The Comic-Book Inspiration Behind Avengers Infinity War Has Been Revealed

Avengers: Infinity War is going to change the face of the Marvel Cinematic Universe forever. Hell, it will change the face of fucking Hollywood forever. It is no joke. Fans have been waiting forever to get a glimpse of their beloved superheroes, but Marvel studios waited for the opportune time to release the official trailer.

It came and conquered the internet. The trailer was epic, breathtaking, and emotional roller-coaster ride all rolled into one. In fact, the movie pundits are claiming that this action-packed superhero extravaganza has the potential to become the highest-grossing movie ever given the massive positive reception it has received.


It broke the all-time record of the maximum number of viewings in the first 24 hours of release. The entire Marvel fan community and superhero film lovers have welcomed the trailer and can’t wait to see the movie on a big screen.

In the trailer, we see Nomad Cap leading his new team of superheroes and warriors at Wakanda to prevent Black Order (Children of Thanos) from possibly getting their hands on the sixth Infinity Gem. The Hulkbuster suit is making a comeback, Spiderman donning Iron Spider suit, Thor meets Guardians of the Galaxy for the first time etc.

The mad titan Thanos is stealing Infinity stones one by one, assemble the all-powerful Infinity gauntlet and launch an all-out assault to destroy the entire mankind. The Infinity Gems are the most powerful objects in the entire MCU. Each of them individually is powerful but collectively they can rewrite reality and destroy worlds.

In a short span of a decade, they have turned a defunct comic book company on the brink of bankruptcy into the owner of the world’ most profitable franchise in international history. They have achieved what no one has ever achieved in their lifetime – global Stardom.

Everyone listens when I say Avengers: Infinity War. The brand has a certain feel to it any other will seldom hope to match with. But the Marvel Cinematic Universe is not an original universe. Its concepts and ideas are borrowed from its parent company – Marvel Comics and their very own Marvel Universe of Superheroes.

Marvel Comics has been publishing superhero stories since before World War 2. They only became popular now but they have been ringing the bell long before Hollywood answered the door.

Iron Man kick-started the MCU franchise. Marvel studios deliberate chose to start its cinematic universe with the Iron Man movie as they wanted the over-arching plot to revolve around Tony Stark/Iron Man. Their gamble has paid off and Iron Man has indeed become the sole anchor of the entire universe with other superheroes poured in as supporting characters.

Iron Man is the most admirable and a recognizable face in the MCU, no wonder he carries a lot on his shoulders. The Iron Man trilogy starring Robert Downey Jr. has been a great success for Marvel Cinematic Universe and since then the craze for Tony Stark and RDJ has reached the seventh sky.

Robert Downey Jr. has since made a total seven appearances in MCU movies that include Iron Man (2008), Iron Man 2 (2010), The Avengers (2012), Iron Man 3 (2013), Avengers: Age of Ultron (2015), Captain America: Civil War (2016), and Spider-Man: Homecoming (2017) as well as a cameo in Incredible Hulk (2008).

The next Marvel movie is Black Panther solo movie followed by Avengers: Infinity War which will take the MCU to new heights. But even die-hard movie buffs generally have no idea about the characters and the sources their favorite movie are based upon.

More often than not, Marvel movie fans are ridiculed for their minuscule knowledge of their comic book history. So when Avengers: infinity War hits the screen, we do not want you to face the same dilemma again.

Take a look at the incredible comic book story arcs Avengers: Infinity War is based on:

 1. Infinity Gauntlet

This is by far the most obvious arc almost everyone is aware of. This 1991 comic book issue changed the way Marvel Comics was viewed. This arc put the entire Marvel Universe against Thanos and his quest for the Infinity Gauntlet.

Thanos comes looking for the Infinity Stones and conquers the universe to try and prove his love for Lady Death. A lot of heroes die in the process. Infinity Gauntlet was Marvel’s first and finest definitive event in its comic book history.

2. Infinity

This storyline is a recent addition to Marvel Comics. When Thanos attacks Earth along with his sinister Black Order, the heroes unite to defend the planet. But the story then pulls some heroes into space to fight the Mad Titan while the rest of them are stuck defending the big blue planet from Black Order forces.

The trailer shows something quite similar to Infinity. A part of the Avengers is pulled into space while the rest are stuck on Earth to deal with other other-worldly threats.

3. Secret Avengers

This comic book story arc was issued starting in 2010.  Steve Rogers and an elite team of the Avengers carried out covert black ops missions while the rest of the team did the fairly public acts of courage and heroism. The trailer for Infinity War showed Cap wearing the ‘Nomad’ suit – a suit that Cap wore during his time as a Secret Avenger.

The Easter eggs have shown that Tony Stark is still in contact with Cap and his elite team of trained assassin-agents – Falcon, Hawkeye, Black Widow and Winter Soldier. They could be MCU’s version of Secret Avengers and could be carrying out covert missions under the Avengers banner after Civil War.

Infinity War is sure to rattle a lot of feathers. Several characters are (hopefully) expected to permanently bite the dust in this soon to be blockbuster. The MCU should get comic book accurate for once and treat death as something that is more tangible than aerosol.

The comic book issues it is based upon is dark, gritty and realistic. Marvel Studios should take the Avengers: Infinity War in a similar tone.

Avengers: Infinity War is slated for release on May 4th, 2018. The official description of the movie reads:

Iron Man, Thor, the Hulk and the rest of the Avengers unite to battle their most powerful enemy yet — the evil Thanos. On a mission to collect all six Infinity Stones, Thanos plans to use the artifacts to inflict his twisted will on reality. The fate of the planet and existence itself has never been more uncertain as everything the Avengers have fought for has led up to this moment”.

The Mad Titan already has two stones in the trailer and he is yet to steal the rest of them. Further, we saw Corvus Glaive (leader of Black Order) ripping “Mind stone” off Vision’s forehead. The Reality stone aka Aether was with the Collector after he was given the possession of it by Asgardians at the end of Thor: The Dark World. But the leaked footage showed Thanos ambushing Collector’s base and possibly retrieving the Infinity stone. The “Time stone” is lying in Kamar-Taj library and “Soul stone” is in Wakanda.

Can Avengers and Guardians stop the march of Thanos before it’s too late? Will the Mad Titan succeed in completely destroying worlds and become the ruler of the cosmos? Well, it’s just five more months.

Don’t Miss: Tony Stark’s New Iron Man Suit Has Insane New Abilities!!

Bibhu Prasad

Do I really look like a guy with a plan? You know what I am? I'm a dog chasing cars. I wouldn't know what to do with one if I caught it! You know, I just... do things
Back to top button