Everything we know about Avengers: Infinity War

Marvel Studios has slowly built a universe that audience has enjoyed. This Marvel Universe, of course, is all interlinked to each other. From Spider-Man to Iron Man to Thor to Peter Quill. This intentional connection, as Marvel Studios President Kevin Feige confirmed, has been built towards an epic big screen battle that has never been seen onscreen before in the new Avengers: Infinity War movies.

This is what we know so far:

The Movie Will Be Divided Into Two Parts:


Marvel Studios announced that the film will be called Avengers: Infinity War. Avengers 4, meanwhile, has been given the placeholder name Untitled Avengers.  Infinity War is the first installment of a two-part story that concludes with Untitled Avengers; the two films were announced together at an event in October 2014 as Avengers: Infinity War Part 1 and Avengers: Infinity War Part 2. Their respective release dates of 5 April 2018 and 5 May 2019.

Captain America Directors Joe and Anthony Russo Will Helm Both Movies:


Joe and Anthony Russo will direct both Avengers: Infinity War  and will be written by Stephen McFeely and Christopher Markus. The four men first worked together in Captain America: The Winter Soldier and Captain America: Civil War. Given how great both movies have turned out, Marvel seems to know what they are doing.

The Marvel Universe Will Meld Together Into The Films:


The Marvel Studios filmography is a complicated universe but they have all been interlocked to one another just like in the comic universe. For Avengers: Infinity War, the plot  may still be under wraps but based on the casting roster and Marvel’s Kevin Feige who recently confirmed about the Marvel Universe coming together to stop Thanos. Fans should expect their favorites to pop up in a scene or two.Robert Downey Jr (Iron Man), Chris Pratt (Star-Lord), Chris Evans (Captain America), Chris Hemsworth (Thor) and Elizabeth Olsen (Scarlet Witch) have been confirmed to appear in the films, with the assumption being that Mark Ruffalo, Scarlett Johannson, Samuel L. Jackson, and other Marvel cast members are also expected to appear. The Russos also have teased appearances by Benedict Cumberbatch’s Doctor Strange as well as Brie Larson’s Captain Marvel.

Thanos Will Be The Main Villain:


Josh Brolin is confirmed to play Thanos in both films and likely even some of the films approaching the last two ‘Avengers’ movies. Thanos has been established as a major behind-the-scenes player in the events of the Marvel Cinematic Universe. First seen in a voiceless cameo in the stinger to Avengers, where the obsession with Death was teased, he showed up again as a major supporting character in Guardians of the Galaxy and later in the stinger for Age of Ultron.

The Film Will Be Based On The Infinite Gauntlet:


In the 1991 Marvel Comics Infinity Gauntlet, the Marvel Comics Universe were faced with doom when arch-villain Thanos, the Mad Titan, in love with/obsessed with the (female) physical incarnation of Death, assembles all six “Infinity Gems,” granting him godlike power over the universe. Believing she’ll reciprocate his feelings if he delivers enough souls to her, his plan is to kill half of all living things. So far in the Marvel Cinematic Universe, we’ve seen at least three Infinity Stones: the Tesseract (featured in Thor, Captain America: The First Avenger, and The Avengers), the Aether (seen in Thor: The Dark World) and the Power Orb (from Guardians of the Galaxy). The remaining three Stones will likely be introduced in the movies leading up to The Avengers: Infinity War, at which point Thanos will collect all six and insert them into the Infinity Gauntlet.

Amy Fanai

Movie lover who writes about movies.
Back to top button